Day 7 — This Question Paralyzed Me

Adam Dukes
3 min readMay 25, 2017

--

This is a LIVE case study where I am documenting my journey to becoming a highly paid marketing consultant by blogging everyday for 50 consecutive days. It’s called “50 Days to Freedom: My Journey to 5 Figures in 50 Days“. At the end of the post, you will find links to all the previous days.

Yesterday, a lady reached out to me asking about a JV opportunity.

She found me in a FB group, liked my opinions on what I shared in the group and reached out.

She then wrote: What exactly do you do?

Eek!

Admittedly, I have been absolutely awful answering this question over the years.

And this is SUPER common.

The “exactly” part is what paralyzed me for hours yesterday. I didn’t have a quick, concise answer for her.

And the Universe works in mysterious ways and…

This morning, a lady posted an EXCELLENT question in a FB group. With 100+ comments, it was an active discussion.

I read through each answer, and they were fascinating.

Some are excellent, and some not so much.

The question asked in the FB group was…

What do you do in 10 words or less?

Not 11 words.

Not 10 sentences.

10 words or less.

Here are some that missed, in my opinion…

  • I help businesses get found online
  • I help small businesses evolving into real brands.
  • Help you moving business forward and getting more clients.

These are so vague/vanilla/general/boring.

They’re trying to appeal to the masses, a common mistake for a lot of people getting started in business. Myself included.

Here are some of the ones I thought were well done…

  • I turn experts into celebrities with live streaming and video!
  • I introduce dead people to their living relatives.
  • I help perfectionists eliminate procrastination, overwhelm and imposter syndrome.

Those last 2 are my favorites, especially the last one.

They are all very specific.

This is the answer to the question when someone asks — what do you do?

And you want them to respond with something like — Fascinating! How do you do that/Please tell me more

So, can you answer the question above: What do you do in 10 words or less?

It’s not an easy exercise, but a fun one.

I am still working on mine, and trying to get it to 10 words or less.

I help small businesses increase profits by 25% in 60 days, without spending a penny on advertising

17 words, so I have some trimming down to do :D

Day #7 Breakdown

Today, I spoke with a lady who found me via a Facebook group. She’s in MLM marketing and has built a successful business over the last 17 years. She’s done this all “offline” and by referrals, and was looking for help with marketing herself online and amplify her message.

At times on the call, it seemed like she was trying to recruit me to her opportunity. Not sure this will materialize into anything. Will keep you posted.

Day #7 Numbers

Emails Sent: 0

Sales Calls: 1

Facebook Posts: 1

Leads Generated: 1

Revenue Generated: $0

If you’re getting value from any of these posts, please share with afriend.

If you have comments and/or suggestions, please leave a comment below!

Last, but certainly not least: Thank you so much for reading, it means more than you know!

Follow along: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6

--

--

Adam Dukes

A stay-at-home-Dadpreneur, a marketing strategist, a cheeseburger connoisseur and a wastebucket full of useless sports knowledge.