Community Highlight #10, Lx aka Lix

Once in a while, the spotlight is put on one active member of the Alephium community. This is an opportunity to showcase community members’ contributions to the ecosystem, what drives them, and what they are passionate about! More episodes: #1 here, #2 here, #3 here, #4 here, #5 here , #6 here and #7 here, #8 here, and #9 here.

Alephium
4 min readJun 16, 2023

Today’s highlight is the very definition of a globetrotter. The human equivalent of a distributed network. But this quality manifests itself beyond cheer geography. Situated somewhere at the bleeding edge where technology and media intersect, this hacker (in the original, constructive sense of the term) is active in many different open-source software projects. What is a bit extraordinary about this is that it is combined with comfort and ease within an audio-visual expression. Basically, multilingualism at its finest. It is with great pleasure that we present Lx, aka Lix, to you through this highlight.

What can we call you, and where should we picture you?

You can call me Lx aka Lix, and you can use the attached picture “Lx in Ho Chi Minh”.

Tell us about yourself/your persona.

My background is in media arts and digital audiovisuals, and as an early digital native, I came in contact with the command line in the late 80ies. I grew up with the Usenet and IRC, the rise and fall of Napster, open knowledge, sharing technologies, and the open-minded societies around the Chaos Communication Congress, and I got into activities with Open Source organizations after my technology project in Malawi. After working for the European Commission in Technology Assessment, I invested precious time in improving UI/UX for a cryptography project that aimed to bring end-to-end encryption to the masses. Out of this endeavor, I created my own companies for Graphic Design, UI/UX, and ICT networks. The concept of cryptocurrencies was interesting to me as a technical concept, and it was only a few years ago when I worked for a high-frequency trading project at the HKEX, I realized how decentralized blockchain-based trading can change financial markets.

How did you find out about Alephium?

It was through a trader friend from back when I lived in Hong Kong that I learned about Alephium and the talk by Cheng at the Chaos Communication Congress.

What excites you about Alephium?

The clever architecture and concept of Proof of Less Work, which is breathtaking, as it does not tradeoff security for efficiency. And, of course, the sUTXO model. It just keeps things secure and efficient at the same time. This is exactly what I expect from state-of-the-art technology.

And the great people who work in and around Alephium. They show their commitment, sincerity, and work efficiency in a steady, diligent, and consistent attitude. It truly is impressive.

In the past months, I could see how a dedicated development team can move forward despite the difficulty of the times. This proves to me that the token is the opposite of a purely speculative blockchain fork, as seen in so many other projects in the past few years.

Alephium is genuine!!

What excites you about the future of Alephium?

That the concept of Proof of Less Work and the Architecture is sustainable and effective. I am so excited to see it implemented and used in toolchains of trust-related applications.

How do you contribute to the Alephium ecosystem?

By investing my time, dedication, and my contact network. And by steadily introducing the Alephium ecosystem to my developers in prospect of developing and producing dapps and Alephium Blockchain-based applications. I just wish I had more resources to invest in. Especially in the educative notion of introducing Ralph and the new paradigm of the Alephium stack toolchain, to train developers and sustain a truly decentralized and distributed infrastructure.

What do you like to do in your free time? Any hobbies?

I love hiking, whether in the Alps or Hong Kong. And I practice martial arts, such as sabre fencing and Muay Thai. As an aviation nerd, I run some radio frequency infrastructure to track planes and listen to ATC communication.

This concludes #10 of the community highlights. Thank you, Lix, for sharing your passion with the Alephium community and helping grow the reach of the project throughout Asia and beyond.

We’ll be back with another episode of the community highlights in July 2023! Meanwhile, you can follow Alephium on GitHub and Twitter. Join the conversation on Discord, Telegram, or Reddit.

--

--

Alephium

Scalable for devs. Secure for users. Decentralized for all.