Amit Kumar
3 min readAug 21, 2019

Final Work Submission | GSoC’19 | CCExtractor Development

Image Source: https://ccextractor.org

Hello folks,

And thus, GSoC ends. So, I guess this marks one of the last blog posts for the Google Summer of Code 2019. And, now the task is to finally submit my work. With this blog post, I’d like to comprehensively document all of my work done through the entire Google Summer of Code 2019. This post contains all the links to major PRs and repository.

Repositories:

Poor Man’s Rekognition:

GitHub Link: https://github.com/pymit/Rekognition

Front-end for Poor Man’s Rekognition:

GitHub Link: https://github.com/pymit/RekoUI

  1. Pull Requests: in Poor Man’s Rekognition

Merged PRs

Unmerged PRs:

2. Pull Requests: in Front-end for Poor Man’s Rekognition:

Merged PRs

Unmerged PRs:

#14: User Authentication [WIP]

All commits https://github.com/pymit/Rekognition/commits/master

How to setup this project locally?

This wiki link will guide you set up the project locally.

Links to previous report blogs

Future with Rekognition

These past three months were a journey of a steep learning curve. A lot of things has been achieved in this period but yet the path doesn’t end here. Lots of improvement and the integration of new features can be achieved in this project. Here are few things which I think will improve this project.

  • A more robust video processing method.
  • Integration of object scene detection.
  • Natural language processing
  • Docker & Kube support for the main repository.
  • Better unit tests.
  • Deployment of the project

GitHub kanban board link which lists all the future upgrades, work in progress and all the works done with corresponding commits and PRs mentioned.

Conclusion

I’ve had a wonderful time during these 3 months and have learned plenty of things. I am thankful to my primary mentor Johannes Lochter, and Carlos Fernandez Sanz , for providing me this opportunity and all the help and support they provided. I’m also grateful to all the members of CCExtractor Development for their quick responses, open interactions, healthy and constructive discussions.

And most importantly, I express my gratitude to the people behind the Google Summer of Code. I had a very enjoyable experience working in GSoC 2019 with CCExtractor Development. I will definitely keep contributing in open-source world!

Happy Coding!