Quando Rondo ‘QPac’ Album Review (Track by Track Review)

atrebs
6 min readJan 10, 2020

--

Is there a better name in the rap game than Quando Rondo? Gaining popularity over the past couple of years, Quando makes a bold statement with the ‘QPac’ title of his first studio album release.

MC’s comparing themselves to Pac is a dime a dozen. MC’s living up to that comparison? Few and far between.

Regardless, I’ve been vibing with Quando Rondo’s style ever since Imperfect Flower. He’s got the perfect pain rap package. The nasally voice, the gritty lyrics, the melodic hooks.

Does Quando Rondo deliver the pain rap package on QPac? It’s time to dig in.

The rules are simple. 1 listen. Straight from the gut — no rewinds, no skips, no stops. All raw reactions. Forever tattooed on virtual paper.

Let’s get it.

Update: I’ll now be writing my reviews at AdamTrebs.com. Check it out for new reviews and general Music musings.

Quando Rondo — QPac

1. Blue Opps

The raspy, gritty Quando is here. “No cappuccino, double cup” is the opening bar. Everything strong about Quando Rondo is showing out here. Smooth hook. Gritty lyrics. Raspy voice. Switching up flows. Solid intro. The ending beat feels like we have a dark, nighttime album on our hands.

2. Real Love

Not the beat I was expecting to follow Blue Opps. This beat is pretty up. But that “real loooove” pain swoon on the chorus. Double speed flow switch on verse 2. We see your chops Quando. Not my favorite song but I like the versatility.

3. Double C’s

Double C’s is one of the first singles from QPac. I can’t get enough of this high-pitched raspy voice. This is another song I’m just down for. Great hook and flows. Not much more to say. The first 3 songs are a display of Quando Rondo’s different styles. Let’s see what else he has.

4. Dripped Out feat. Luh Kel

Nice piano keys on this one. “They hate the fact I’m with you. They hate they missed out.” He’s going into extra raspy on this one. Luh Kel is a smooth compliment on this track, the transition felt seamless.

5. Nothing Else Matters

I never said it was easy, climbing the ladder.” I wish I could write tones to exemplify the pitch changes. You’ll need to hear them for yourself. A Boogie with da Hoodie-esque. Quando is taking from one of the goats. So of course I love this.

6. Poetic Justice

2Pac movie. This beat composition is fantastic. Woah. This is the song. I want to replay this now. I can literally envision Quando Rondo laying a verse on top of the stems. The content stands out more so than the first 5 tracks as well. On point.

7. Marvelous feat. Polo G

Polo G! Another member of the pain rap crew. I’m a sucker for the sound of opening bars to verses. “I’masayabsolutely when you ask amIinlove.” This doesn’t disappoint. Quando loves rapping about double cups. I mean, I guess he does have a track called Double C’s. Hopefully he doesn’t abuse it. Polo G’s deep voice is a strong contrast.

8. Expensive Edibles

Another very Quando Rondo song. If you like the style, you’ll like this. If you don’t like the style, you won’t like this. The chorus is nice. It’s good but it’s not a standout.

9. Collect Calls

Ooooof. “Phone jumpin’ up off of the wall, it gotta be my dawg.” Another strong opening bar. He’s been starting a few of these songs with hooks instead of verses. Changing pitches mid-verse is one of my favorite styles. It adds an extra layer of excitement. More rappers are adopting it too.

10. Bad Vibe feat. A Boogie wit da Hoodie & 2 Chainz

Quando and A Boogie. Yes. Yes. And yes. Party beat. I’m ready to dance to this. Another real solid opening bar from Quando Rondo. He’s pretty good at this. I can see this getting radio play. I hope it does. Bad Vibe giving me good vibes. Can’t wait for A Boogie. I love that voice. And the pitch changes. No one does it better than A Boogie with da Hoodie. 2 Chainz providing a very 2 Chainz verse. He’s a good get for the album but he doesn’t really fit in with the Quando A Boogie steez. Love this song though.

11. 101

I don’t know about this choice after Bad Vibe. This is a downer-type beat. I would’ve liked to keep some kind of upper, party style. It is a cool beat though. And a good flow. Pain rap song for sure.

12. Safest feat. Lil Durk

Durkioooo. These are great features for a Quando Rondo album. Similar styles. Quando changed his flow up here to get closer to Durk. I honestly felt that Quando was Durk for a couple bars. Durk really mastered his autotuned style. That is an iconic sound for him.

13. Just Keep Going

Pain rap staple. “And I just wanna know why / They don’t notice that it’s hard.” I don’t even know how to explain this ghost sound moving around the back of this beat. It’s a fact of life that you need to always keep going. Don’t stay stagnant for too long.

14. Legitimate Drugz

He hit another pitch on this one. And is hitting a deeper pitch too. It’s a very different rap album when you’re also listening for pitch levels. Another great flow.

15. Perfect Timing

Nice bouncy sound every 8th bar on the beat. He goes in on these songs. Another solid one. It doesn’t stand out after one listen but I’d be happy to revisit.

16. Codeine Talez

Another classic sound. I can feel his mood on here. He just wants to make it and will do whatever it takes.

17. Love Or Lust

A great pain rap love song. We all have been through these love or lust questions at some point in our lives. Songs like this are what we need when the going gets tough.

18. Letter To My Daughter

This one feels very 2Pac-y with his song Letter to my Unborn. “I done dedicated my whole heart to you, girl / You’re the only one know how I feel / Run it up to just buy the whole world.” Wow. I have goosebumps and I don’t even have a daughter. Strong guitar beat. Phenomenal song. I want a daughter now so that I can feel this.

Quando Rondo — QPac: Final (First Listen) Thoughts

Quando Rondo showed his versaility on QPac. The multiple flows, nasally voice, gritty lyrics, and melodic hooks.

For existing fans of Quando Rondo, QPac should further reinforce their fandom. QPac should also deliver enough to convert some new listeners into believers.

Quando Rondo has a chance to lead the wave for the pain rap sound. He is one of the most unique new wave rappers and is solidifying his place in the rap game. His style belongs with the A Boogie’s, Lil Durk’s, Polo G’s of the new school in terms of positioning himself with a unique sound.

Top 3 songs are: Bad Vibe, Poetic Justice, Letter To My Daughter

Again, I’ll now be writing my reviews at AdamTrebs.com. Peep it to see new reviews and general Music musings.

Previous 1-Listen Album Reviews:

Follow me to get notified of any future reviews! And check my Spotify playlist Street Slaps.

--

--

atrebs

1-Listen Album Reviews. Straight from the gut — no rewinds, no skips, no stops. All raw reactions. Forever tattooed on virtual paper.