With My Deepest Empathy, I’m Really Sorry

Dijay Limbu
4 min readMar 18, 2024

--

Photo by Sveta Dobrynchenko on Unsplash

i’m sorry for the way i treated you

punishing with cruel silence is what i used to do

i wish i wouldn’t have done that

i wake up from the same old flashbacks

feelings buried deep in my heart, i can no longer ignore

now i’m actively trying not to hurt you anymore

i still remember the days like the back of my hand

the test of time we couldn’t withstand

snow globes turned into shards

emotions we showcased many moons ago have drifted apart

now we’re just one step forward, two steps back

always searching for new muse and soundtracks

at one point it was fun but life’s tough now

used to paint the town red when we were 21

this is just a shot in the dark…do i ever cross your mind or not?

i get lost in this melancholy of life over and over again

my purpose vanished into thin air, all my endeavors in vain

you pictured clear blue skies but i left you in dark grey

years go by, seasons change

memories we had together still lingers in my brain

those moments short lived and faded away

like i didn’t even exist, that’s the price i paid

crumpled calendar on the floor but i still remember your birthday

and i wish you knew how much i resist calling you everyday

it cuts me deep, i have to spill out my guts with anguish

i know at times i’ve been quite selfish

i know i shouldn’t have crossed those boundaries

my fickle heart and mind keeps replaying kaleidoscope of bitter sweet memories

this time it’s me at your doorstep with shattered hopes

i’m leaving you with letters of remorse without envelopes

swirling in sorrows, drowning in disbelief are not good for anyone

everything feels so out of place and wrong

in the cold light of day we have to move on

didn’t want things between us to be like this, i swear

my attempt to seek your forgiveness might be a hit or miss affair

i’m sorry for hurting you and i know that it’s true

now all i ever want is to make it up to you

people say speak now or hold your peace forever

clear the air or prepare to suffer evermore

putting aside ego, live today for a better tomorrow

an effort to apologize is more commendable than none

i think it’s time to let bygones be bygones

for the worst things i ever did to you

i hope these words weigh heavily

with my deepest empathy, i’m really sorry

Liner Notes:

February 22, 2021

“For the ones who truly deserve it!”

Unlike it’s predecessors this one is quiet different. Other chapters are like this is what happened, what i felt, you did this to me, hopeless romantic, loved and lost, but this one is like maybe i was the problem.. maybe i shouldn’t have pushed the boundaries… perhaps you were right…. maybe it’s my fault.

In our lives we often tend to point fingers at others first but fail to realize our own mistakes. And maybe it’s our pride that becomes the reason for our bridges to burn.

I’ve never apologized to anyone in my previous chapters but i think i should’ve…. to those who truly deserve it. So i wrote this one during march april last year. While i was writing this chapter i kind of thought about innocent people from the past…. people who got burnt by my rage, who were deserted, who got incriminated because of my misjudgment. I think in the course of time i have become matured enough to own up my mistakes and avoid unnecessary drama or to be associated with it.

“To those who were shattered into millions of pieces by me at some point of time here’s my attempt to put you together piece by peace of mind.”

this one is for you, i hope you know who you are”

Flash forward to March 18th, 2024:

hello there! how are you? it’s been quite a long time. If you are reading this thank you so much for being so incredible and to be here. This was something i wrote many moons ago with a different headspace. Lately I’ve been quite inactive on medium. I was searching for new inspirations to write about and fortunately I’ve written bunch of stuffs but still they feel a little half baked. During that process i happen to stumbled upon this particular piece of my previous writing. The version that you are reading is actually a revamped one. There was no intention to post this particular writing because i scrapped down a lot of them thinking they were quite a cringe. I had to rework this one and other 2 which i will be sharing with you in the coming days if possible. and furthermore when my gut instinct overpowers me i will share my new writings with you all. thank you for stopping by.

© Dijay Limbu 2024 All rights reserved

My other works:

Muse : The Unrequited Love

Memento Of Love : The Story Of Once In A Lifetime

Beloved John: Pages From The Diary

--

--