The Heart Wants What It Wants

Dijay Limbu
2 min readMay 4, 2024

--

last week, i saw your pictures circulating on the internet
it’s been approximately four and a half years since I left
how are you?
how’s your family?
it seems like nothing has tainted your radiance
there’s no one that can match your elegance

the weather is quite the same just like the day we first met
it has been a long time coming ’cause we were all mad in that incarcerate
heard you found someone seven blocks ahead
heat waves are brutal out here
still no chances of crossing path
still no signs of interactions
will the stars ever align?
should i give up on you…. again?

i expect you haven’t changed a bit
’cause you were perfect just the way you were
use the same colors and paint the canvas, remind yourself of all those beautiful things we left behind
do ever vividly recall old conversations?
how our slow burn eventually became our greatest obsession

hallucinations transports me back to you
it was my game, my rules
checkmate! i didn’t lose
i was quite unfair to you
double vision cascaded in the room
you gave me your world but i let you down
you begged me to stay then quietly watched me fade away
nostalgia rips my soul apart but the heart wants what it wants

my inner impediments restrain me from calling out your name
all that’s left are sandcastles in ruins
i wish i could turn back time
revert and change my own mind
Ingested all the potions in my possession to forget about you
living in sin is something that i’ve started to do
what’s past is past now all i think about is cerulean blues
nostalgia sends me spiraling down into dejection
but this mercurial heart wants what it wants…over and over again

Synopsis:

“The heart wants what it wants” deals with common themes of our lives showcasing what almost everyone usually does, that is delving into nostalgia, revisiting someone or somethings from the past time and again even though you know it’s not the wisest thing to do. I wanted this one to sound like a series of memories being told, wishful thinking, heartaches, resentments and longings.
It’s not something new that hasn’t been said or done before. With that being said this is “The heart wants what it wants.”

P.S More poetry coming your way soon!

Thank you for reading. :)

© Dijay Limbu 2024 All rights reserved

My other works:

Muse : The Unrequited Love

Memento Of Love : The Story Of Once In A Lifetime

Beloved John: Pages From The Diary

--

--