Meet me! This is “Mobile Me” project.

Mobile me and you- fitness&nutrition people – part 1

georgia flaouna
Mobile Reputations
4 min readDec 24, 2018

--

This semester we had the chance to work for a very interesting project during the course ‘’New Consumer Trends’’, taught by Mrs. Betty Tsakarestou. My team and I did an extended research on Mobile Collaborative Consumption and Sharing Economy, a field that is on the rise. During our research we wanted to go deeper into the mobile consumption and the way, especially Millennials, use their phone for their everyday routine. The insights and the observations that arise are interesting and tell us a lot about our generation and the world around us. So keep on reading our stories in order to follow our project steps and discover our final findings.

I am Georgia Flaouna and I am student of Communication, Media and Culture at senior year!

In the first sessions of the course “Mobile Reputations Collaborative Consumption in Sharing Economy, by Betty Tsakarestou,we had to analyze in the first place our mobile daily routine for the ‘’Mobile Me’’ project. This task was actually not that easy as we thought it would, because it’s hard to see how do you really move on a daily basis and be objective.

We did it though and at the end of the day it appeared to be extremely exciting! So, I, as a user, used to call myself a “heavy user” and that’s because I used to spend almost 4 to 6 hours per day on my mobile. That’s has changed much lately, as I have already decreased my time on mobile at 50%!

Of course I am a millennial and Millennials can’t actually live without their shel phones and that concludes me in! I can not imagine my day without scrolling, getting informed and just doing things on my mobile, as I use it about everything…university,communities, alarm,notes, literally everything!

First thing I do, when I wake up is checking on my Instagram account, which is my favorite app. Then, when I have time I will come back to scroll down a little more on Instagram and rarely Facebook. I use Facebook only for University communities and Conferences, either way I don’t find it appealing anymore.

My work surface concludes only apps I can’t live without, like Instagram, Messenger, Facebook,YouTube, Viber, OASA transportations, Linkvo Dictionary, Maps and What’s App Cosmote App. Even when I want to download a new app, I usually do it, use it as long as I need it and then I delete it. This is how I use my mobile phone on a daily basis!

You can read the rest parts of the project here: Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7.

Go to our microsite here!

Our team members: Marina Karvouni vasia tagatidi Elena Tsakiridou

Hashtags: #Mobile #MobileReputations #Collaborative #Consumers

Resources:

Andrew Lipsman, “5 Interesting Facts About Millennials’ Mobile App Usage from “The 2017 U.S. Mobile App Report”, Comscore, August 24, 2017, Last view: 22/1/19, https://www.comscore.com/Insights/Blog/5-Interesting-Facts-About-Millennials-Mobile-App-Usage-from-The-2017-US-Mobile-App-Report?fbclid=IwAR1vB9XIcTBl9zUV7TXPr3hABOuj3qbsCu03REu58_7nXZ52-eXkaGUbnbw.

Klaus Schwab, “Globalization 4.0 — what it means and how it could benefit us all”, World Economic Forum, Published: 05 Nov 2018, Last view: 22/1/19, https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2018/11/globalization-4-what-does-it-mean-how-it-will-benefit-everyone/?fbclid=IwAR0lbxv9YkekkMLVK-0uaEWlwFk_ne4vQep-Pv4x3XZA-z1SB0wMY88GLDs

--

--