Hey, use python… Me: Okay cool, what’s this? Python 3.7? I need to use Pip? Sure…

Easy to Setup Pip Python 3.7, Windows 10- Non-Developer Version!

A non-developer version, by Tyler G.

Tyler Garrett

--

Setting up Python 3.7 Pip on Windows 10 is a quick process and easier than Tableau consulting.

I recommend pycharm if you’re new … because it’s going to let you build environments VS installing python 3.7 on your local directories.

If you don’t want to install python or pip on your personal machine, try colaboratory, googles new product.

(Directories are folders on your computer, they seek to build install files in folders for you, they give away a lot of free apps (free for to small teams), and pycharm is easy enough to pick up, especially if you are diligent enough to google this much.)

Pip will install files, code, etc… on your computer, in folders. The bottom half of this blog is about other options, suggestions, recommendations…

Do you work from home too? Feel free to add me. (art asset here)

Hi, my name is Tyler Garrett (my website is my name,.. brilliant).
Before this blog…
I built a free loops music store to help musicians in developing countries & by analytics biz dev3lop.

Let’s get started.

Here’s an easy way to start using pip quickly. BTW… If you’re on mac, you already have an older version of python, start using that and don’t install python 3.7 on your local macbook because then you’re going to want to uninstall,….

I wrote about that too. And I link to it a bunch because if you’re a noobie you’re probably running into the exact same cluster flux scenario where we don’t know what the hell we are doing, we trust NO ONE, and we can’t find shit to tell us what’s going on.

I wrote this for that person…

Start by getting →

  1. Grab this file “Get-pip.py” from https://bootstrap.pypa.io/get-pip.py
  2. It’s easy, you just need to → Right click the website….
Save this to your desktop.

2 more steps, and you will be Mr. Pip.

  1. Find the file you just saved… (the only hard step)
  2. Double click the get-pip.py file, wait for the installer to complete, stare at the installer and hold your breath.

Work completed…

Did your laptop just sizzle and the lights turned off?

Probably broke your laptop, I’m sorry. Add me on linkedin and tell me how terrible this blog was and how much worse you feel reading this compared to facebook.

Seriously if this worked — I want to annoy you…

We are likely on the same learning path right now.
Feel free to network with me!

Check out my portfolio here or here.

Setting up Pip on Python 3.7 was fun right…

If you’re refusing to use pycharm to setup your pip functionality in a virtual environment, your next steps are rather easy, you can follow along, and setup your python pip installer — without breaking a sweat and on your clunky windows 10.

Pip on Python 3.7 pip pip pip pip

Okay, if you need pip, above method is fast and painless.

Once pip is installed, you can run updates using pip.

You can not use pip to uninstall python, lol. I tried..

Yes, I linked to it twice because that’s where you’re heading if you’re not reading and skimming.

Steps for setting up pip on your local machine… You will want to avoid that in the future and start using a tool that lets you build environments that house dependencies. Which pip is going to help you download.

So if you’re like me, a crazy person who hasn’t learned about pycharm. The steps above work perfectly!

You’re going to take this journey anyways. But once you’re done doing that to your machine… You might want to check to see if your pip installation is completed by following this next boring steps.

Scroll below this little noobie disclaimer. To find boring steps.

You may be trying to learn python for the first time and have the overall feeling that learning python 3.7 pip installation…

Is NOT the correct direction…

Start with python 2.7 and familiarize yourself.

Maybe you’re looking to uninstall python 3.7, and if you’re on a MAC, you’re starting to realize you already have python installed… Shit, I know…

So, I blogged about that too. No clickads, no funnel, just uninstall it and get pycharm because it will help you get away from learning python 3.7 inside of a terminal console…

Testing PIP is working with your new python 3.7 install on windows 10

Boring STEPS.

Open your cmd terminal thingy, hit the windows key, type cmd, hit enter. Your terminal should automatically popup.

How to quickly access your command prompt or CMD on windows 10.

Type “pip” in CMD to learn more about pip

/!\ Before do anything, install or upgrade the Setuptools Python package. It contain compatibility improvements and add automatic use of compiler
pip install — upgrade setuptools

Have not installed python yet?

Install python, or do my how to install python 3.7 windows 10. This can be accomplished using the python installer at python.org. Setting up Python 3.7 on windows 10, the non-developer tutorial for those who don’t want to figure out every little aspect, and prefer having someone teach them the path to success. Read more of my python struggles here.

Python 3.7 is rad — I wanted to originally use it but I realized I was not able to shorten links with the tinyurl library, so I reverted back to a version that allowed me to use the tinyurl library (python 2.7).

After you download the latest version of python, like python 3.7, you have a little bit of a journey ahead of you. Let’s begin.

Python requires a type of installer to gain access to complex libraries written in god only knows… The goal is you don’t need to write these complex libraries from scratch, you can call them up, with non-complex code, and get away with practical murder from an automation perspective.

I’m excited about the fact that I can build what I want in a few lines of code — and so far it makes sense. But to get to the point of making your apps, we need some foundation, a means of downloading, there are a few methods, let’s start with the pip method first.

Now now… if you’re new… Don’t worry about the latest version. You will not need 3.7 for awhile. Download python 2.7 first and find an updated version of 2.7. Otherwise you will be playing with a lot of environment variables and dependencies, which make it complicated to learn fast.

Seriously, 2.7 is easier for newbs. Go there first. I’m learning on 2.7 and after writing this blog for 3.7, I realized I wanted to be on a later version to use fun stuff like building short links with tinyurl in python.

Check out my page about Knime if you want to learn how to automate analytics or applications without programming!

Thanks for your time. Typos by Tyler Garrett, a boring tableau consultant, who trims trees in austin for fun.

--

--