A life of a cat — Chapter 12: Almost Killed

Luis Conejo
2 min readJun 13, 2017

--

This is a story my daughter is working on. As such, the following is a direct transcription of her draft for chapter 12. You can find chapter 1 here.

Previous chapter

There the rat stood, watching us as we shook with fear. Then the rat came charging at us, with the shot. “Watch out!” I screamed to Aura, Choco, Oran, and Delilah. Delilah had just come in. She charged at the rat. If the rat ever held the shot in the direction where she was jumping, she would dodge it and kick it the other way, near his body. The last part Delilah leaped over him, the shot she kicked hit the rat smack in the stomach. Before he fell asleep, Aura shouted “What’s your name?!”. “Iko..”. He fell asleep before he said his real name.

I shook Fireflie to wake him up. “What… were….. you doing…?” He said weakly.

“We were fighting the rat that-” Delilah interrupted, “RHYME!!!! I don’t like Rhymes. So, we were fighting the rat who gave you a shot. And thankfully, I WAS jumping over him so he accidentally hit the shot right SMACK on the stomach.”. “DELILAH!!!! JUST BECAUSE YOU DON’T LIKE RHYMES DOESN’T MEAN YOU NEED TO INTERRUPT!!!” I shouted. “Geez, Sorry.”. Fireflie giggled. I blushed as he came up to me and nuzzled me. A few hours later, this happened:

“Will you… marry…. me?” He asked. I hugged him, saying “YES!”.

Continue to next chapter…

--

--

Luis Conejo

Software developer, traveler, aspiring novelist and short story writer with mixed results :-)