Lego Build 106 — Avar Fighter

Francisco Duarte
3 min readAug 17, 2023

--

Continuing along with the builds connected to my Blake’s War AU, the Avar is the light dogfighter and SEAD option for the Clan (Nova Cat) faction. This is a simple build of a small aircraft that although seemingly a workhorse for the Clans up to the Invasion receives very little love from the lore in general.

One word to describe the Avar would be “average.” Average speed, average armor, average weapons load for its weight of 35-tons. This fighter did not stand out in any way and that was the reason why it was kept in service among the Clans for so long as it did. Despite not being specialized at anything, it was just good enough to present itself as a Swiss Army knife of sorts to Clan commanders.

By the Blakist war, though, the Avar was getting hopelessly outdated and slowly replaced by more modern, better types.

In my AU these units would sing their swan songs when the Nova Cats and the Ghost Bears found the need to deal with thick Blakist and Black Dragon defenses. The recon and Narc-equipped variants of the Avar were found to be excelent options for this perceived SEAD (Suppression of Enemy Air Defenses) function. The recon versions would go ahead to find the emplacements, while behind them came units carrying modified Narc missiles that supressed these emplacements, alowing other forces to surge in and destroy them.

Despite the success of this strategy, the remaining Avar stocks would take a punishment and by the end of the first phase of the war in the Pesht Sector other options for this role wound have to be found.

This model took me a while to make. I tried several approaches to emulate the weird shape of the Avar, but found them all to be lacking which led me to go for a more traditional approach (nothing like the experimental option I used for the Sabutai). Additionally, the weird wing disposition also required some experimentation, especially since this is supposed to be a small aircraft, so the size of the aft fuselage couldn’t get too big.

I think the end result isn’t too bad, although you will tell me that when you try to use my instructions. It takes 39 parts plus the base and I would rank it as easy to make.

If you like my work please leave me a tip in my Ko-fi account. It has helped a lot in keeping the lights on and I hope that with enough support I will be able to commission original art for projects based on BattleTech and also my original ideas.

You can also check my Ko-fi store for original games and fiction (I recently posted two versions in different languages of a short story of mine). You can also check my other gaming work around the Internet.

Now go play games and enjoy your lives, folks!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine