Lego Build 111 — Thunder Stallion

Francisco Duarte
3 min readOct 2, 2023

--

Yet another entry linked to my Blake’s War AU, the Thunder Stallion is one of the classic Clan Totem Mechs that lasted in service way beyond the point of obsolescence. Yet, it is a worthy addition to the Clanner lineup, if I may say so. If you like posts like this don’t forget to visit my Ko-fi page and leave a tip if you like what you see. You can also check my other gaming stuff around the Internet.

Developed by Clan Hell’s Horses, the Thunder Stallion was meant to look much like its namesake, although as the design process went along practical considerations imparted the final look. It boasts heavy firepower through the use of a large-bore autocannon and missile launchers. The armor is also quite thick for an 85-tonner.

At the turn of the 31st century this machine was already being superseeded by more modern designs and fell into second-line service, already out of production.

Due to its long service life, all things considered, the Thunder Stallion would be catured by many of the Hell’s Horses enemies in quite a few occasions. Due to their resilience these machines would change hands many times, some eventually finding their way to the arsenals of Clan Nova Cat.

After losing his Executioner during a battle against the Word of Blake, Star Captain Fenix Rosse would be forced to use a mothballed Thunder Stallion, as new machines were hard to come by at that stage of the war. He would still be piloting this machine at the time of his death, during the Pesht Campaign in late 3069.

I’d classify this as a medium-difficulty build, using 106 parts. I will admit that some elements of this build still don’t satisfy me, but I think that’s usual for me at this point. The original art was a bit wonky so I made a few improvements of my own here and there where I thought it would look better in the final model. I didn’t want it to be much bigger than necessary, as sometimes I may go overboard on that regard.

So, let me know your thoughts. Now go out there play games and enjoy your lives!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine