Lego Build 132 — Jinggau

Francisco Duarte
4 min readAug 22, 2024

--

Things seem to be picking up again. If all goes well I may have a few good news to share with you during the next few months (meaning extra content for you to enjoy). Let’s see how it goes. In the meanwhile, make sure to check on my Kofi page (and donate if you’re inclined — helps me keep the lights on) to see what drops in, and also check my Itch.io page for gaming-related content and model compilations. You can also check my RPG stuff while you’re at it to get material for your gaming sessions!

With that said, this is another model I’ve made for the compilation I hope to produce after Battle For Artru (itself still a bit in flux although close to release). Because I’m building the storyline from the videogame Iron Harvest (Battle for Artru is fashioned after Battle for Dune in the same way the wider Blake’s War continuity was built from Starcraft) I’ve decided that the Ronin War wouldn’t do. However, I could build from the storyline I’ve settled for the first compilation and continuing the story of the Aurigan Coalition into the 3050s. Hence today’s model…

The Jinggau was developed by the Capellan Confederation for the sole purpose of challenging and defeating Clan technology. Although by the mid-3050s Clanner machines were still not completely understood, the Capellan scientists managed to produce something special.

Equipping the latest developments in engine and material technologies, as well as a re-discovered Gauss rifle to go along with a battery of medium lasers, the Jinggau was also fast for its size and mobile due to the inclusion of jump jets. This machine was so impressive that after capturing a few Clan Hell’s Horses would quickly produce its own copy of the design. This was especially shocking due to the generally dismissive attitude of Clanners towards Inner Sphere technology.

In the Blake’s War continuity the Capellans would use the Jinggau to further entice the Taurian Concordat into allying with them. An intitial batch would be sent to Taurus and then promptly field-tested during the short border conflict against the Aurigan Coalition in 3059, where they performed well. They were thus the main brawler ‘Mech choice for the Taurian faction — Catapults and Thunderbolts would also fill this role quite often as there weren’t enough Jinggaus to go around in all units.

I’m very happy with this model. I think it may be one of my best. The new art for the Jinggau is sleek but brutal, in opposition to the rather goofy original one. Although originally I wanted to capture the original art, I think I ended up capturing the elegance of the reimagined one. This model uses 68 parts and I think it isn’t really that hard to put together. As for myself, I was so happy with this one that I had to share it as soon as I could. Hope you like it.

To me, the Jinggau has always been a mystery of sorts. It was one of those ‘Mechs that I found out during my early ventures through the internet and it took me a while to understand what it truly was. The name is rather uncommon too, but very memorable.

Now go out there play games and enjoy your lives!

--

--

Francisco Duarte

I’m a sci-fi and fantasy author who wrote for several game IPs and penned “Heather: a kaiju novel.” You can buy me a coffee: ko-fi.com/metastablemachine