I’m Writing a Novel on Medium

Why I’m Writing My Novel “Hold On” Here, and How to Join Me

Naveed Iftikhar
Hold On
3 min readApr 12, 2023

--

Image Created through AI Nightcafe

Like so many Pakistanis, I grew up in a rural setting, with no real privilege behind me. I have gone on to travel, experience big cities, and even study across the world. My story isn’t unique, and I felt a lack of visibility for creators like myself.

So, as one does, I decided to write a novel.

There are three reasons I’m writing my novel, ‘Hold On.’

  1. There is a lack of accessible, relatable literature for Pakistanis and the diaspora. Our literary talents write for Western audiences, and that reading level can leave out the average Pakistani who also wants to read novels.
  2. I want to highlight the issues faced by ordinary Pakistanis — how they struggle through the process of class mobility, how women struggle with patriarchy, cultural issues of honor and so on.
  3. Navigating complex relationships and emotions — I want us to gain a greater understanding of our emotions, expressing them, and putting them in the public sphere.

Table of Contents

Preface

Chapter 1: Never Question a Professor

Chapter 2: “No One Will Ever Marry You”

Chapter 3: Save a Life

Chapter 4: I’m Not Scattered Yet, Even Though I’m Broken

Chapter 5: Every Woman Suffers Such Abuses

Chapter 6: The First Girls’ School in Peshawar

Chapter 7: Her Wish to Play Sports Overpowered Her Fear.

Chapter 8: She Had No Safe Place to Go, Except Inside Her Head

Chapter 9: Marriage or Education?

Chapter 10: “It’s Okay to Cry”

Chapter 11: How to Save a Relationship

Chapter 12: She Never Felt Like She Belonged in Public Spaces

Chapter 13: “My Family’s Honor Is at Stake”

Chapter 14: From Pakistan to Greenwich Village

Chapter 15: Expecting a Fifth Child

Chapter 16: Lofty Dreams for a Humble Family

Chapter 17: Her Little Secret

Chapter 18: A Letter to My Love, From New York City

Chapter 19: The Unbearable Lightness of Being Pakistani

Chapter 20: One Soul and Two Bodies

Chapter 21: An Intimate History

Chapter 22: Destiny Is Never in Our Hands

Chapter 23: The Sun Is Also a Star

Chapter 24: How to Not Get a Tech Job in Pakistan

Chapter 25: The Life of a Single Working Woman in Islamabad

Chapter 26: Destiny Finally Smiled Upon Her

Chapter 27: Guilt and Joy

Chapter 28: Building Wealth with Startups

Chapter 29: Don’t Trust Boys

Chapter 30: Hesitant Farewell

Chapter 31: The Flight of Life

Chapter 32: Suddenly, We Were Close

Chapter 33: Relationships Nurtured Over Years Crumble in Seconds

Chapter 34: From Sorrows to Joy

Chapter 35: Where to Stay on Your Honeymoon

Chapter 36: Funeral of Entrepreneurs

Chapter 37: Pity and Racism

Chapter 38: I’ll be there for you

Chapter 39: My Lonely Childhood

Chapter 40: The hug conveyed more than any words could

Chapter 41: Bound by roots, drawn by dreams

Chapter 42: Life will never be the same

Chapter 43: Woh hamsafar that magar uss say hamnawai an this

(The last seven chapters will not be published online; they will be exclusive to the hard copy that I aim to publish in 2024. Meanwhile, please leave your thoughts in the reply section below the chapters. I am humbled by your support and interest in my novel. Find out why I write here, start from Chapter 1 here.)

--

--

Naveed Iftikhar
Hold On

Entrepreneur & Urban Strategist. Wanderer. Writing my novel right here on Medium.