“Mobile Me”- Part 1

vasia tagatidi
4 min readJan 6, 2019

--

This semester we had the chance to work for a very interesting project during the course ‘’New Consumer Trends’’, taught by Mrs. Betty Tsakarestou. Our team did an extended research on Mobile Collaborative Consumption and Sharing Economy, a field that is on the rise. During our research we wanted to go deeper into the mobile consumption and the way, especially Millennials, use their phone for their everyday routine. The insights and the observations that arise are interesting and tell us a lot about our generation and the world around us. So keep on reading our stories in order to follow our project steps and discover our final findings.

So, this is Mobile Me, the part 1. Let me introduce myself. Ι’m Vasia Tagkatidi, I’m 22 years old and I study in the department of Communication, Media and Culture of Panteion University.

For this project, we had to analyse our personal mobile daily routine from the moment we wake up till the moment we lie in bed and also present the apps that we use the most.

I can’t refuse that as a Millenial I use my smartphone a lot, almost all day to be honest. It seems like i have a strong relationship with it, so I can say that I am a “heavy user” as I use it 4 to 5 hours per day.

Here are some observations about my daily routine with my phone:

Time spent on my phone

When I wake up in the morning the first thing I do is to turn off my alarm clock. The first app I open when I’m still in bed is Instagram, to see some friends’ stories, scroll down, like some posts and answer to my direct messages. It’s my favorite app. I use it also to share my photos of my daily life and my trips. Then, the next app that I always open for my daily communication is Messenger. I use this app to communicate with my friends and my family almost all day long.

Photos of my Instagram account

In my free time I love editing photos and making videos with my favorites moments, so I have a lot of editing apps. I use Facebook only to get informed about my university news and program’s changes, where we have a group. Everyday, I check the weather apps before leaving the house. I also use the OASA transportations to be on time. Sometimes I use Google maps when I have to go somewhere for the first time and when I’m hungry and bored to cook I order from Efood. Moreover, for my trips I book online tickets via Aegean app. I use Zara app to order clothes.

Apps that I use

Here is my phone’s surface with all my apps:

This video explains my mobile routine.

If you like our project you can follow us and see the next parts:

Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Methodology.

Our Website: http://mobiletrends18.tilda.ws/

Thank you!!!

Our Team Members: georgia flaouna, Elena Tsakiridou, Marina Karvouni.

--

--