Mein Aur Meray Bully — Episode 4

Talha Nehal
3 min readOct 13, 2019

--

Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

Link for Episode 1: https://medium.com/@talhanehal/main-aur-meray-bully-d79bf85ce55a

Link for Episode 2: https://medium.com/@talhanehal/mein-aur-meray-bully-episode-2-4e50598d5c61

Link for Episode 3: https://medium.com/@talhanehal/mein-aur-meray-bully-episode-3-91fa4e96da42

https://medium.com/@talhanehal/mein-aur-meray-bully-last-episode-dd67c2dd473f

As days passed, I began seeing myself as a poor and weak deer being chased and hunted by a group of hunters. And the realization dawning on me little by little that only way to save myself was to skip school. And I started pondering could this be the ray of hope at the end of tunnel I could use to escape the bullying.

My parents were one of those people who took education of their child very seriously. This meant taking every possible measure to make sure I had the best education and top notch grades at school. One of them, obviously being maintaining my attendance as close to a 100 percent as possible. So, skipping school without a legitimate reason was out of question and excuses would not fly. As I was preparing for my Geography test, I started thinking for reasons to not go to school. I could not focus on my preparation easily. But, somehow I completed it.

Areej and Jawwad both sat with me in the class. I grew more anxious. Both of them said in unison. “Yaar Noman humein toh kuch nhi ata, tum dikhao gaey na humey answers?”

I began wondering what they would do to me if I refused. Right in the middle of this I remembered what my mom had always said me. “Noman beta kabhi bhi cheating mat krna na hi kissi ko krana.”

Jawwad (shaking me by my shoulder): “Bta na, tu dikhay ga na??”

My whole body nervously shaking. My mom is the most important person in my life and so obviously I always listened to her. And could not just let them cheat my answers on the test. So, I thought of a clever way out of the situation. I would deliberately wrote wrong answers and let them submit their test papers.

After the test I stayed on my desk to correct the answers.

Areej: “Chal na hogya zabaradast test”

Me: “Haan araha hoon mein bas apna naam aur class ka section likhna bhool gaya hon ”

Both Areej and Jawwad left the class. I was in a tough position now. I had thought to myself that I would easily figure out how to not get caught by Areej and Jawwad when the teacher returned our graded test papers. But, now I was getting scared what if I could not figure out a plan in time.

As I was walking down the hall, I saw a new person standing outside principal’s office. As I passed him thinking of what might come if Areej and Jawwad find out how I tricked them. The person looked at me puzzled as if trying to figure out what was going on with me.

He asked me : “Everything ok?”

I said (nervously): “Yesss”

I quickly left. Little did I know who he was and how he would become part of my story. Anyways, two days later it was time for the teacher to return our graded test papers. I was sitting in the classroom waiting for the teacher to arrive and I had planned I would say “Mujhe tum log k janay k baad khayal aya k meray answers ghalat hain aur phir mein nae change krdiye answers.” I really hoped that this would work.

As I turned my face towards the door of classroom, I saw Areej and Jawwad standing there with Altamash.

… to be continued

--

--