*The Fool and The Wild Man

Wayne Duckworth
2 min readJul 13, 2017

--

Photo: Felix Russell Saw — Unsplash.com

I am zero,

A babe born into this plane

with innocence, light and joy

I sing for the whole world

with play and magic to proclaim

I am the fool

the boy who liked to joke

to make up rhymes and shout

come to outer space, let’s play out

and wear a cloak.

I am the jester

the youth, an existential joke

be cool, hang out and smoke

dance, loose myself in debaucahry

find myself in ecstasy

I am the madman

the thirty-something in his head

searching, breaking down

getting lost, again and again

on my way to find a new game.

I am the beggar

tired, cold, looking to hide

laughing at myself on the inside

and fall to my knees

choke and then finally breathe.

I am the wildman

almost free

the place I want to be,

a fool filled with

love and ready to play,

now I can see.

Wow is that me?

Hope you enjoyed the poem, here are a few more you might like including, Untouchable, Ninja with a Water Gun, Hurt, The Assassin, Photons, Coffee Beans and Words of Love, Pride, Prejudice and (Poetry) Heaven, Like a Buddhist Chant on Coffee Breath, Own Two Feet, The Feeling Bitter, Sweet, What is Love? and Tender Revolution and White Cat, Sparrow Dance

I’d love to know your thoughts and feelings, please leave a comment down below

--

--

Wayne Duckworth

Children's picture book author, novelist and poet. Yogi. World nomad. Embracing the awesome queer, geek and freak. https://yogaprofessionals.net