About Me — Kasun Udara Ranasinghe

The boy stuck between two lovers

Kasun Ranasinghe
About Me Stories

--

Photo credits: Gavel Club University of Moratuwa

Who am I?

A question I have struggled with from the moment I realized I was a single soul floating in an infinite space with billions of beautiful souls behind me, billions alongside me, and billions more before me. (A line inspired by the movie “Soul”)

If you break down my name literally in my mother tongue, Sinhalese, it means Gold (Kasun), Noble (Udara), and Descended from brave lions (Ranasinghe). In reality, I’m more of a hibernating brown bear trying to find his place in a big and confusing world.

You can also call me a 25-year-old university graduate living in Sri Lanka with his parents and little brother.

But I like to think of myself as a lover stuck between two lovers. Let me tell you how it all started.

Back when I was a teen, I was an introvert by day and an even greater introvert by night. Stories were what I used to escape my boring life. Whether they were stories from books, cartoons, movies, people, or games, I would dive headfirst and swim in its splendor. Gaming was my favorite, I still spend hours playing Witcher 3, Skyrim, and Far Cry 3 (the best one). I loved the stories they presented and the adventures I could go on.

--

--