About Me — Paul Do

“Mama, mama many worlds I’ve come since I first left home…” -Grateful Dead

Paul Do
About Me Stories
2 min readDec 19, 2020

--

I am a “Boat Person.” I am a refugee. I am an immigrant. I am Vietnamese. I am an American. I am an Ohioan. I am a Californian. I am a Chicagoan.

The Herald-Star of Steubenville, Ohio wrote a story on my family, circa 1984.

I am an elementary school math whiz. I am a Spelling Bee champion. I am a Little Leaguer. I am an involuntary Catholic. I am a reluctant altar boy. I am a militant atheist.

I am a mediocre high school football player. I am a better wrestler. I am a student of the game. I am a high school football coach. I am a brown belt in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu. I am an assistant instructor in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu.

Brazilian jiu-jitsu started as a way for me to get healthy and it turned into a passion. I am pictured here In January 2017 with my Professor, co-founder of Brazil-021 International, and fifth-degree black belt, Andre Terencio

I am a rapper. I am an old-school hip-hop head. I am a breakdancing Stan. I am a Bob Dylan fan. I am in love with Tupac Shakur. I am a procrastinating screenwriter. I am an essayist on untold stories of America.

I am an indoctrinated Republican. I am the holder of two degrees from the People’s Republic of UC Berkeley. I am a registered independent. I am a staunch believer in the phrase, “Black Lives Matter.” I am an opponent of the War on Drugs.

I am a recovering binge drinker. I am a raver. I am a cannabis enthusiast. I am an addict. I am a poker player. I am a gambler.

Poker has gone from a hobby to an obsession because it combines math and risk-taking. I am pictured here playing in the 2015 World Series of Poker Millionaire Maker.

I am a meme stealer and sharer. I am an internet troll. I am on social media for unhealthy amounts of time. I am a reality-television fanatic.

I am a lawyer. I am a writer. I am a teacher. I am a student. I am a friend. I am a foe.

I am a husband. I am a father. I am a middle child. I am a brother. I am an uncle. I am a fur daddy.

I am pictured here with my wonderful wife, Lauren, and my son, Zion, who was born in 2019 after a 6-year IVF journey.

I am not special. I am lucky. I am, according to a law school roommate’s mother, “LOVE.”

--

--

Paul Do
About Me Stories

Husband, Father, Jiu-Jitsu Enthusiast, Lawyer, Poker Hack, Foodie, Reality TV Show Snob, and Lucky SOB.