Learn Everything You Need

VEON Careers
Banglalink Careers
Published in
8 min readNov 3, 2017
Arka, Zarif and Abu Saleh

Reflections on the Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program and more

Have you ever wanted to go an adventure through a whole company? That’s precisely what the Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program allows trainees to do.

APPLY HERE NOW:

From commercial to digital to support functions, the program gives employees the chance to gain experience in different roles and departments at Banglalink — and see how the entire operation works. The goal is that this will enable Banglalink to better fulfill its bigger mission of improving lives as they help lead Bangladesh into the digital age.

Today, we caught up with three team members who just finished the program: Abu Saleh, Zarif Hassan, and Arka Aqeeb Iqbal. Here’s what they had to say about their experiences:

Tell us a little about your background.

Abu Saleh

Meet Abu Saleh

I graduated with an MBA in marketing from the University of Dhaka. I first worked at a bank, then switched to Banglalink to be a management trainee.

Arka

Meet Arka

I graduated with a degree in electronics and electrical engineering from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology. My first position was with Banglalink as a management trainee in the Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program . Now, I’m the network planning lead engineer.

Zarif

Meet Zarif

I graduated with a degree in marketing and finance from North South University. I first worked for Airtel before joining Banglalink as a management trainee. Now, I’m working in the digital department as an e-engagement and marketing expert.

The takeaway

The Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program aims to attract a range of talents and backgrounds. The purpose is to give different kinds of workers the chance to learn about the business as a whole — before settling into a specific position. Ideally, the best candidate is one that aspires to make magic, though you shouldn’t wear a magician’s outfit to work here (well, at least not all the time).

Why did you choose your field?

Abu Saleh

I like creative things. Marketing tells the story of a brand — and it has the power to inspire people and change lives.

Arka

I chose engineering out of a fascination for computer hardware at its basic level. I wanted to know how things work and how they’re designed. I chose electronics engineering because the industry is moving in exciting directions.

Zarif

Originally, I was a student of science. But the potential of finance in Bangladesh motivated me to study it. During university, I took a marketing course and was amazed by how it could be used to enhance people’s lives and understand their needs. I decided to study both finance and marketing.

The takeaway

If you don’t follow your passion, then you’re probably going to burn out. The three answers here should be inspiration to ask where your dreams are going and chase them (yes, you can talk to your dreams).

Summarize what you did in the Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program

Abu Saleh

I started in the finance department, analyzing revenues. Then, I spent time with HR and saw how recruiting worked here. With the commercial function, I worked on branding and product marketing campaigns, and I also helped create an internal platform to get employees excited about compliance.

With the technology teams, I witnessed how different groups are coming together to solve problems for the business. The entire program showed me the importance of seeing how all these people and activities come together to work towards a common goal.

Having fun….

Arka

I started in technology, working on dismantling and relocating network infrastructure. Then, I moved to the commercial function, working on the same project, which really showed me a lot about how data comes in and how we can use it.

After that, I worked with HR on recruitment tracking. I helped build a tracking tool to manage the hiring process. Overall, it was really awesome to learn so many new things.

Zarif

I first worked with the commercial department on a big project where we implemented more than 650 3G sites across Bangladesh. We had to reach out to people near those sites. I visited sites and talked to customers. We actually created a virtual reality cycling system and an augmented reality photo booth. This showed people the amazing experiences Banglalink can bring them as a digital brand and company.

Following that, I worked in HR, learning all about recruitment. Then, I worked with the digital teams, specifically IT. I observed how they implemented a workplace platform for employees. It was incredibly exciting to sort of travel through all of Banglalink.

The takeaway

Even if you want to be a master at something (who wouldn’t want to be a master?), developing a range of skills and understanding how other specialties work can benefit you tremendously. Perhaps even more important, it can prevent you from feeling stuck. You can get out of that chair and explore other things. That’s why Banglalink has created the Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program.

What was the most important and/or surprising thing you learned during the Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program?

Abu Saleh

While working with the finance department, I tried to learn as much as possible. Gathering data and putting it together to analyze as a whole was complex. Sometimes other departments didn’t think the way I presented that data was best. But they helped me improve.

“What I learned is that different challenges exist in different roles, but the approach you use to solve those challenges is what’s most important.

Overall, observing how everyone is working towards a common goal has been amazing. Also, the support of team members and leaders is tremendous. Everybody here is committed to helping others improve.”

Arka

“When working on network infrastructure, it can be easy for an engineer to think narrowly. But getting to see how it works from the commercial perspective really clarified the whole process. Seeing how all parts of Banglalink run together and form a unified engine was eye-opening.

Also, I discovered what’s key to making it all run efficiently: Communication. I’m impressed by how well team members with different skillsets and thinking communicate with one another here. This enables the company to figure out the best way forward.”

Zarif

“I still remember my first day vividly. When I arrived, I found out there was no assigned seating, so I just sat anywhere. This made interaction with managers and C-levels much easier. There are no barricades at Banglalink.

So, I would say the environment and culture are key to success here. I’ve gotten to know lots of senior levels, and they’ve been very supportive of my work here.”

The takeaway

By taking on various roles within a company, you can broaden your knowledge and skills. It also ensures you don’t get stuck in a tunnel. That’s because you can see the bigger picture — and you know the secret recipe that makes the business tick.

Now that you’ve done the Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program, why do you think someone should join Banglalink?

Abu Saleh

From workshops to training programs like the Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program, Banglalink is prepared to help you grow. You also have the freedom to do things. If you can conceptualize something and want to make it happen, Banglalink will give you the resources to help you do that.

Arka

Banglalink is one of the main advocates of new technology in Bangladesh. You can be a part of introducing revolutionary products and services to people. We’re becoming a truly digital company, which is very exciting to be a part of. This is a place where you can develop professionally and personally.

Zarif

The environment is awesome. We have fun while working, so get ready to laugh if you work here. In Bangladesh, we have a mission to become a digital country. Banglalink is a big piece in making that happen. We’re selling devices that enable you to connect to the world. We have data services and we’re building apps that put experiences and all the world’s information in the palm of your hands. If you want to have a significant impact, join us.

The takeaway

Folks say that great leaders are great learners. That explains why the culture at Banglalink is centered around learning. As you create things that can enhance lives at Banglalink, you can also have fun (yes, even trips to the movies happen here).

Go forward!

That sums up our interview on the Banglalink Strategic Assistant Program. Hopefully, you’ve discovered that, with the right environment, process, and resources, you can learn, improve, and succeed.

APPLY NOW:

--

--