7 thoughts after 7 days: A Remote Year Hiatus

Just ten days.

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad
3 min readAug 9, 2016

--

It felt long. But it was some much needed familiarity and slowing down.

I’ve spent 4 months in unfamiliar countries. One month in the familiar arms of a favorite city of mine, London, but I felt myself wrapped up in its’ whirlwind. What’s interesting is that London didn’t have the same comfortable unfamiliarity that South America did. In South America, I could be spontaneous. I could decide my route to the office enroute, didn’t have to plan on public transportation, and it wouldn’t matter much if I got lost. I could spring for an afternoon ice cream if the craving struck. In London, everything was much more calculated. I had reservations for dinner. I bought tickets to shows. I had to be certain places at certain times.

It was neither good nor bad — just different.

Before joining my Cousteau crew in Prague, I hopped over to France to spend time with some friends and family at a house that I felt comfortable in. I knew its’ nooks and crannies. It had a dishwasher. It was quiet. Here are some thoughts from those quiet days.

1. I needed this.

I love my remote year family. But in London, I felt myself craving some independence. I wanted to have dinner alone, just me and my book. I enjoyed the 45 minute solo tube rides into the city. I wanted to wander, uninhibited.

I think these cravings were partially due to the big city-ness and the seemingly inescapable crowds of people, but it was also because we have been together for five months. And like any relationship, sometimes you just need to take a little break.

2. The days were slower.

My first day away from Remote Year felt like three different days. I’m not entirely sure why (it could be because I had driven overnight for 14 hours or because we essentially had three different weather types in one day), but the slowness of the day made me remember how much I missed days like that. Days where there’s nothing really to do except read and nap. There’s no guilt for not doing something, seeing something new.

3. When you leave, time doesn’t stop.

Surprise!

Just kidding. I’ve known this for awhile, especially after I went to college.

Siblings grow up. Dads and moms keep working. Your favorite restaurants at home close, or just get worse. It’s just always funny and interesting when you see people from home, be it family or friends, and they tell you new things, they’ve learned to live their life without you. I mean, so have you…but you’re in a new place and they’re not. It’s just interesting to think about, and remember. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

4. I should make time to read.

I finished two books last week. Two!

Sometimes it’s nice to just get lost in a book. That is all.

5. I’m starting to think about life post-Remote Year.

As much as I don’t want to, I am.

It’s scary. It’s weird. When I’m around non-Remote Year people, I’ve noticed that I act a little different than I do when I’m with remotes. We have our own little language (do portal, welcome party, or junction ring a bell?) and live in our own little world. Yes, we’re a little bit like a bubble. It’s an amazing little bubble, but it’s going to pop.

I start to think about where I’ll live, if I’ll still be working remotely, who I’ll be with, etc. It’s a little scary. We’re almost halfway done. WHAT?!

6. Remote Year induces a lot of questions.

Explaining Remote Year has become a chore of sorts. It’s exhausting to explain because it’s A) hard to explain and B) people always have more questions. But I’m grateful for that! It’s a fun thing to talk about, but it’s just not normal.

We’re in this little bubble a lot of the time, so when you get out of it and talk to people who have no have never even heard of remote working, it’s totally different. It’s like being in Silicon Valley and talking about Product Hunt, Slack, and Peach, when your friends in Alabama have no idea what any of that means.

7. I miss the quiet.

Sigh.

Check out my recaps of Còrdoba, Buenos Aires, La Paz, Cusco, and London. Follow along on Instagram for my daily adventures.

--

--

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad

Writing things. Product-ing @wearequilt | Prev: @redantler, @beyond, @aboutdotme | Did the @remoteyear thing.