CREATOR SPOTLIGHT

The Humor Writer Who Started Her Own Comedy Publication

Kyrie Gray makes Medium a much funnier place

Medium Creators
Creators Hub

--

Each month here on Creators Hub, we’re featuring a creator who is doing something cool on Medium. Next up: Kyrie Gray, who reminds us of how much fun Medium can be. Gray has written laugh-out-loud funny pieces like “Zeus Finally Fired Due To Sex Scandals” and “MasterClass Now Offers Courses Taught by Famous Dead Writers,” and runs the humor writing publication Jane Austen’s Wastebasket.

We wanted to know why Gray chose Medium as the home for her hilarious work. She answered our questions via email:

Creators Hub: If someone only read one of your Medium posts, which should it be and why?

Kyrie Gray: It’s hard to pick but one that many people seemed to enjoy recently was this post about guest bedrooms. I actually had to assure my mom it wasn’t about her, even though I was staying in her guest room while I wrote it. Well, maybe the pillow part is true.

What made you want to write the stuff you’ve been writing?

After doing standup and improv, I wanted to try writing humor for the internet but didn’t know how. After a couple of rejections, I decided it was best to write and self-publish so I could see the reactions I would get. Most of them were not great, but every time I wrote something it was good practice. When I look back at earlier pieces I have on Medium, I can see how far my humor writing has come.

What are the last three profiles you’ve followed on Medium?

I honestly don’t know since I will randomly follow new writers when their story pops up in my feed as long as they make me giggle. That being said, here are three writers I’m so happy I follow in no specific order: Carlyn Beccia, Roz Warren, and Andrew Knott.

How do you handle running a publication (or… two? How many do you run?) on Medium? How did you avoid blocks and burnout?

I run Jane Austen’s Wastebasket as my main publication, and have another, Here There Be Monsters, that I’m testing. I’m always looking for pieces that have a historical or literary angle, but mostly submissions that are clean, clever and unexpectedly bizarre win my heart. I recommend either being organized or having someone on your team who is. I used to let a lot of emails fall through the cracks until I figured out some systems to prevent that.

If I had one tip for running a publication on Medium, it would be to decide what your publication is for. Is it a personal portfolio? Is it a website where you want writers to submit? How often can you commit to publishing? How about editing? Are you going to open social media accounts to promote your writers? There’s a lot of little things you’ll learn along the way. As for blocks, I suggest not being precious with your work. Give yourself a deadline for a piece and get it out there, so you can work on the next thing.

What’s the best piece of writing and/or creativity advice you’ve ever gotten?

Over the last couple of years, I’ve had a lot of good advice from other writers. The one that stands out is from Caitlin Kunkel who told me it’s okay to look after your mental health. You sometimes have to pare down what projects you’re working on or put things on the back burner. It’s okay to take a break.

If you could write any book, what would it be called?

Dumb Literary Humor to Read in the Bathroom If You Forget Your Phone.

Follow Kyrie Gray for more! And be sure to stay tuned to Creators Hub for next month’s Creator Spotlight.

--

--