30-Day Coding Challenge

Day 5 — Reflections & Operators

Kester R.
DSV Logs!
Published in
1 min readJul 10, 2024

--

Photo by Author Via Microsoft Designer & Canva

25 days left in my coding challenge and I’m feeling pretty good that I haven’t missed a single day, even though my reports have been delayed.

That said, after reflecting on the past five days, I realize more needs to be done.

So, far in my challenge (in case, you’re new):

  • Day 1: Planned improvements for a random word generator
  • Day 2: Created Version 2.0 of a Temperature Converter (I should upload it as a Github gist, right?🤔)
  • Days 2 & 3: Faced external factors that shortened my time spent working
  • Day 4: Struggled with balancing my coding, writing, and other urgent commitments

And for Day 5:

I discovered various useful Python hacks online. The one at the forefront of my mind right now is the “//” operator that divides a set of numbers and rounds down the result to the nearest integer.

x = 9 // 2
print(x)

#OUTPUT: 4

At first sight, it honestly made me doubt the use of the “math.floor” function.

But apparently, it’s more limited since “math.floor” works for standalone numbers and other arithmetic operations not limited to only division.

So, what’s the ideal use case of this operator?

I’ll leave that to you.

On to tomorrow…

--

--

Kester R.
DSV Logs!

I'm a writer trying to do what he knows best - "hitting the keys on my keyboard"