Day 101

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readMay 2, 2017

Stormy starts the day incredibly excited. Today my work friends are coming over for a barbecue. It’s the first thing she asks about when she wakes; “are you friends coming tonight?”. That they are. The rest of the morning is a blur as she quickly get’s ready. Only disrupting one video conference this morning.

After work, I return home and start to prepare for my colleagues arrival. Stormy is having a play-date with her friend from downstairs so she stays out of the way. However, before long she joins me and makes instant friends with each of my friends and colleagues. She’s the perfect mix of well behaved and playful. Generally charming everyone.

While we’re cleaning up, there are a few small tears when one of her toy ice cubes melts (which seems to come as a surprise to her) after we’ve tossed the rest in the garden. However, one of her new friends comes to the rescue. Bravely leaping the fence to recover a new ice cube for her. She takes this as an opportunity to run around a freeze everyone. Her justification; “I didn’t know people. That’s why I wanted to put ice on them!”

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 100) | Tomorrow (Day 102) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.