Day 103

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMay 4, 2017

I wake this morning to find that Stormy has migrated from her bed to mine. There’s a momentary realisation that I have lost the sense of joy I had when my wife originally left, when I had an entire bed to myself, and replaced it with a sense of wonder. Wonder at exactly how little bed a grown man needs and how much a 4 year old can use.

I gouphly wake Stormy & entice her out of bed by making Chewie jump on her. It works. She’s out of bed and before I know it we’re on our way to the bus stop. I make a random May the 4th Star Wars joke which leads to a conversation about the movie. She is amazed that our dog was in Star Wars. “If Chewie is from Star Wars, then how did he get to Singapore?” I’m not sure what to say to that.

I return home from work and the evening starts like any other. That is up until Stormy mentions a little thing in passing that makes me die a little inside. I missed her school presentation (she was the cat). Stormy tells me she was sad, but that she’s OK now. This only makes me feel worse. I made a promise not to miss these, but I had the date for Kindergarten 2’s, not K1’s, presentation in my calendar.

Sad Evan is sad.

A couple of extra books at bedtime and all is forgiven. By her at least. Not by me.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 102) | Tomorrow (Day 104) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.