Day 105

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMay 6, 2017

Stormy’s excitement is hard to contain today. For some unknowable reason, I decided to take her on a weekend holiday to Bintan (an small Indonesian Island off the coast of Singapore). We’re not scheduled to go until after lunch so it’s really hard to keep her focused on what needs to be done. Like packing her bag.

However, we do get the bag packed and have a few hours before the ferry. So we head off to Sportsball. I notice that, once the games start, Stormy refuses to join in. She just sits by the side of the field. I beckon her over to me. “What wrong?” I ask. She looks at me and say, “I miss mummy”. We immediately Skype her mother and within 2 minutes she’s back on the field will all her energy restored. I think the remaining 6 weeks will be hard.

Afterwards we quickly stop home, grab our bags and then we’re off to catch the ferry. An hour later we’re stepping off the boat into another country. Stormy makes a new friend on the bus to the resort and doesn’t even sit with me. She and her new friend play games as we weave our way through the lush Indonesian island. We bid farewell as they depart to a different resort and before long we’re stepping onto the beach — ready with bucket and spade to make sandcastles. The beach is lovely and the water is warm. It’s amazing.

We have dinner on the beach. While I try some local food, Stormy embarrasses me by ordering Spaghetti Bolognese. But she’s happy, and the ladies at the restaurant completely dote on her, so it’s all good.

I have no hope of getting her into bed on time tonight. I have an interview for a board position which, as expected, she joins me for. I suspect she may actually help my chances. :-)

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 104) | Tomorrow (Day 106) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.