Day 107

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMay 8, 2017

I wake Stormy early this morning. I remind her that Daddy has to go for surgery today and she takes that as a cue to be nice to me. She’s up, fed and on the bus quickly and ,more importantly, without a fuss. I should go for surgery more often.

I come home and I’m already exhausted. Having spent half the day unconscious, you’d think I’d be more rested. Stormy greets me at the door and tells me that she won’t play rough with me while patting my hand. Chewie, our dog, takes that moment to try and jump on me. Someone didn’t get the memo.

Before dinner, Stormy goes downstairs to play in the pool for a little while. The local anesthetic is starting to wear off, but I hobble downstairs and watch her play. I obviously can’t go in so she promises to stay in the shallows so I don’t have to rescue her. She’s rather thoughtful in her own way.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 106) | Tomorrow (Day 108) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.