Day 108

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readMay 9, 2017

Stormy is well behaved this morning. She’s up early and asks if I can take her to school. Given than I’m on medical leave, sure. I take my medicine and am about to grab a small sour lolly to take the taste away when Stormy looks up at me.

“Can I have one of those. They look nice”

“No, it’s my candy. Daddy get’s a treat after taking his medicine. Like you get a treat when you get medicine.” That was a mistake.

“Can I take some medicine”

Exasperated now. “No, that’s not how medicine works”

She looks at me like she’s figured it all out. “So can I have some candy then”

Me. “Fine!”. She looks pleased with herself as we scoot to school. Via ToastBox. It’s that sort of day.

I fob her off on another parent for a play-date after school to give myself some extra recovery time. I need it. I spend way too long asleep on the sofa.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 107) | Tomorrow (Day 109) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.