Day 110

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMay 11, 2017

Like last night, Stormy comes into my room early in the morning. But this time she creeps into bed and carefully avoids hurting my recovering wound. The cat follows and is not as considerate. Morning comes and I get her up and dressed. I put a little bow in her hair to make her look nice, although I doubt it will make it through the day.

I return home from work to find her playing in the pool, sans bow, with our downstairs neighbour’s child. Who is also technically our downstairs neighbour. Language is weird.

She sees me, jumps out, and runs over to hug me. It’s sweet. It’s also extremely painful as she headbutts the wound. I’m also now very wet. Oblivious to everything, she jumps back in the pool and continues playing.

We finish the day by taking dinner down by the pool with our neighbours. It’s a lovely beef stew, but of course Stormy refuses to eat it. Rather, she steals our neighbours dinner and eats that instead. To be fair, they had pasta and it did look tasty.

After dinner, there’s just enough time for a quick bath and a couple of stories before going to bed. She’s been asking me to do the breathing exercises with her each night and it works. Not that she falls asleep afterwards, but she knows not to get out of bed afterwards.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 109) | Tomorrow (Day 111) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.