Day 112

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMay 13, 2017

You know you’re getting old when you spend your birthday just like any other day. And enjoy it.

Stormy wakes up, drags me out of bed (literally) and gets me going. I’d rather sleep in. That’s not an option this morning. ToastBox, Sportsball and Daiso. That’s Stormy’s Saturday and nothing changes that. Even when I point out that I’m still recovering from surgery, she looks at me and says;

“Don’t worry Daddy, I’m here to look after you”

“Can I have a hug?” I ask optimistically

“No”.

I take some comfort that she’ll look after me. This doesn’t last long as, during Sportsball, she runs at me full speed with her teddy bear outstretched and hits me in, what was, the recovering wound. I excuse myself and go cry outside for a little while.

Afterwards we return home for some birthday cake that my wife has had delivered to us. Stormy takes this time to be really sweet. After cake we, once again, brave the Singapore heat and visit a nearby play gym. I take to opportunity to leave her with our helper and take a little time to myself.

Returning home, I find that Stormy has setup a birthday party for some of her toys. We sit and play with it. It’s a really pleasant evening.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 111) | Tomorrow (Day 113) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.