Day 123 or “The Day ‘I Love You’ Becomes a Weapon”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMay 24, 2017

I arrive home from the airport late at night while Stormy is still asleep. Her mother is gone (we pass each other in the air) and once again I am a single(ish) dad. I bid her carer good night and go to sleep.

Morning comes and Stormy wakes on time to, politely, demand her present. I point out that I was only gone for two days and you don’t get a present each time I’m gone. She’s rather put out by this and sits in a corner of her room sniffling. She cheers up once I offer to take her to ToastBox for breakfast and then on to school.

I drop her at school and watch her playing with one of her friends wearing a Darth Vader t-shirt. I think Stormy and all her friends will be in for a surprise when they discover that Darth Vader is actually the bad guy.

I’ve organised a weekly play-date so she get’s home after I do. We have dinner and prepare for bed as usual. I read two stories and refuse to read a third. This is when the big guns come out.

I love you has become a weapon. “Because you love me right. And because I love you”.

She’s right. I read her a third story.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 117) | Tomorrow (Day 124) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.