Day 126 or “The Day Stormy ‘Rarghs’ at Dinosaurs”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMay 27, 2017

Still no sleep in. Even on a Saturday. 7am arrives and a small pair of feet start pushing at my kidneys. I ignore her as long as I can, but the inevitable arrives and I drag myself out of bed. I pop her in front of Saturday morning cartoons to have my shower and the day begins.

After our usual breakfast at ToastBox, we arrive at Sportsball to discover it’s been cancelled for the day. I vaguely remember being told last week. There are a few other parents in the same position as us as we turn around and head back out wondering what to do.

I’m in luck. Plaza Singapura has a Dinosaur exhibition and playground. Stormy makes a flying Pterodactyl (which looks more like a snake I’m sorry to say). The animatronic dinosaurs rargh at her and she rargh’s back. Clever girl.

Afterwards I take her to the Imaginarium at the Singapore Art Museum. There are some interesting exhibits, but the one that she loves the most is a series of tiny photo’s of Singapore embedded in resin scattered over a wooden floor. She borrows my phone and runs around taking 100’s of photo’s of them. And I’m not exaggerating.

Afterwards it’s time to eat. We decide to go to a nice restaurant today. Despite the location, it’s the usual long and torturous process of her refusing to eat. I eventually get her to eat half her lasagna. In celebration we get desert, apple tart and ice cream. Say what you like about her, but she is an equal opportunity food rejector. She refuses to eat desert. More for me.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 125) | Tomorrow (Day 127) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.