Day 132 or “The Day the Cat Joins us for a Shower”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJun 2, 2017

I withdraw yesterday’s comment about her internal alarm clock. She decides that 6am is the right time to be awake. This leads to the interesting experience of being dragged from my morning routine to play Lego with her. The dark sky outside is only slightly disconcerting. I manage to escape for a few moments and jump into the shower. She decides that this is the perfect time to have a shower with me. And the cat.

30 minutes later the three of us are clean and at least two of us are on our way to ToastBox. I bring a book for her to read as she has not yet earned YouTube or her games. Once we sit down, I pull the book out and she looks at it with utter disdain. “I’m too lazy to read” she exclaims while slumping over the table. I can’t help but agree. After a short whinge, I eventually win and she reads the book to me. It’s a small victory, but a victory it is.

Stormy spends the afternoon in the pool with our neighbours. At about this time I get a message asking if her best friend could join us for Movie Night. Stormy is so excited by the idea. An hour later he arrives and we settle in for a couple of movies (Angry Birds and Trolls) and McDonalds. I make up a batch of maple butter popcorn and we get properly comfortable. It’s a fun night. His parents return just as the end credits roll and as all three of us are dancing to the music. I don’t feel the slightest bit silly.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 131) | Tomorrow (Day 133) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.