Day 133 or “The Day Stormy Passes the Bar”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJun 3, 2017

The first thing Stormy wants to do this morning is watch cartoons. I point out that she hasn’t read a book yet so isn’t allowed. Without hesitation, Stormy, channeling her best inner lawyer, points out that “you said I can’t watch YouTube on the phone, not the TV”. I’m impressed by the reasoning and, given the litigious nature of our reality, it’s probably better she learns to do this early. So I allow it.

After four “just one more” episodes I turn off the TV and the day really begins. Toastbox, Sportsball, Daiso and lunch all as usual. She’s saved up enough coins to buy herself a little treat so she gets a balloon animal set. Which, of course, she gets me to do as soon as we get home. If you need a balloon giraffe, I’m your man.

The afternoon is spent making tea parties with her plushies before taking advantage of the sunny day and diving into the pool for a swim. I manage to leave Stormy with our helper and escape for a few hours. I manage to add 3,000 words to my book so I’m feeling pretty accomplished when I come home. The sense of accomplishment only increases when I manage to get Stormy into bed without a fuss.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 132) | Tomorrow (Day 134) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.