Day 143 or “The Day Stormy is Replaced by Aliens”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readJun 13, 2017

With her mother back in Australia, Stormy often talks about her mother going on a holiday. I have to explain that it’s not a holiday when mummy works. This morning she wakes up and starts talking about her holiday in Sri Lanka. I honestly can’t believe I have to explain to her that it’s not a holiday if someone died.

Explanations over, it’s time to get her ready for school. She very well behaved and we scoot off to ToastBox and school with plenty of time. She even reads me a story over breakfast. When she tries, her reading is good. The difficulty is getting her to try. Most days she just looks at the picture and guesses.

Her good behaviour remains well after I come home from work. She even eats dinner. It’s takes 90 minutes to get her to sleep, but she spends the time happily playing quietly in her room. I can only assume that she was replaced by aliens during the night who’s only understanding of 4yo children is from watching Christmas TV specials.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 142) | Tomorrow (Day 144) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.