Day 144 or “The Day Stormy Learns the Betrayal of Adulthood”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJun 14, 2017

While I might be coming down with the deadly man-flu, nothing will stop Stormy and I from ToastBox this week. It’s 7:30 and we’re on the scooter racing down to Great World City. After reading one story together, we clear away our breakfast and emerge back onto the street. It’s at this point Singapore’s 100% humidity says, “bugger it”, and decides to start falling.

We turn around and race home to grab a taxi to school. This is when Stormy has her second surprise of the morning. Just as we arrive at our condo, who should emerge from a taxi but her “Abi”, my mother-in-law. This is also a surprise for me.

After a second round of hugs, I manage to extract Stormy and get into a taxi to take her to school. We talk about our day ahead and I mention that I’m going to see my doctor for a final checkup after the surgery. “And then you get a sweet” Stormy exclaims. She looks so betrayed by her future adulthood when I explain that adults don’t get sweets from the doctor.

In the afternoon, I pick her up from her play-date and bring her home for dinner. Abi takes many of the evening duties of reading to her and getting her into bed while I spend the evening fighting my employer’s bureaucracy. Although, I do get to put her in bed and go through our breathing exercises together. That’s sweet.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 143) | Tomorrow (Day 145) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.