Day 145 or “The Day Stormy Ignores the Food Pyramid”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJun 15, 2017

Stormy continues her “good” campaign. I need to take away her TV more often. While it’s takes a little while to get her out of bed 🛏, once she emerges the morning moves at a rapid pace. The three of us, including her grandmother (her Abi), partake in our regular ToastBox breakfast treat before heading off to school. I must say that it’s been rewarding taking her to school this week. Once we get to the classroom door, she always rushes inside in excitement. So quickly that, most days, the teachers have to remind her to say goodbye.

I work from home 🏠 today as I continue the inexorable march towards death as is so often caused by the man-flu. This means that I’m home when Stormy arrives on the bus 🚍. After spending a little time playing with her Lego and joining me for my video-conferences, she goes down for a swim. That lasts just long enough for me to be in the middle of a client call when she returns. Luckily the mute button exists 📵.

Before long she’s bathed and I’m finished. Time for dinner. Stormy takes great pleasure in describing the Healthy Eating Plate that she learnt at school. She even goes so far as to get some fruit and bread from the fridge to go with her salad and chicken pasta to replicate the plate. She describes in intricate detail how much of each food we should eat and what’s healthy.

She then proceeds to ignore everything she just said and eat only the bread and pasta. Somehow her Abi convinces her to eat the salad and chicken. I must learn this magic power. 🔮

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 144) | Tomorrow (Day 146) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.