Day 146 or “The Day All is Right with the World”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJun 16, 2017

I wake this morning and realise that, by some miracle, I have been spared. However, with the last ravages of man-flu having left my system it’s time to return to work. The little girl beside me turns over in her sleep, never knowing what horrors she has been spared.

Putting aside the hyperbole. I’m feeling better and so wake at my usual hour to get ready for work before Stormy is out of bed. Once Stormy is awake and ready we head out for our final ToastBox treat before her Abi drops her at school for the last day of the holiday programme. I scoot off to work and spend the day looking forward to taking Stormy to the movies this evening. Today it will be Despicable Me 3. Technically she lost movie night along with TV for the week, but her good behaviour for the entire week deserves recognition.

I eventually pick up Stormy from her play-date (via a comedy of errors including a late meeting, a flat tyre, a taxi and a forgotten wallet). She runs up to the taxi and gives me the biggest hug. My heart swells at that moment. All is right with the world. We pick up her Abi and it’s movie time. We can’t avoid McDonalds, but I’m getting used to that Friday tradition now. She enjoys the movie and falls asleep in my arms as I carry her home.

Today was a good day.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 145) | Tomorrow (Day 147) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.