Day 147 or “The Day I Get to Escape”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readJun 17, 2017

Saturday mornings are a unique blend of relaxing and frantic rushing. Somehow the lack of school always convinces us that we have plenty of time 🕑. A little sleep in, a slow start, maybe a cartoon or two. And before we know it, we have to run out of the house if we want to make it to Sportsball on time. During breakfast we try and get her to read a story to us. It starts off well. She can read most of the words on the page. However, a couple of pages in and she get’s bored. She just looks at the picture and makes the rest of the story up.

Any advice, dear readers?

After the usual Saturday morning routine, we all traipse off to “The City”. An indoor playground where children can pretend to be police 🚨, fire fighters 🔥, shop keepers 🏪 and chefs 🔥. Stormy starts by being a chef. She asks us what we would like to eat. We give her our order; burger 🍔 for me and pizza 🍕 for Abi. 5 minutes later she returns with a bowl of chips, salad, hotdogs and (eventually) some pizza. I tell her not to quit her day-job.

With Stormy’s Abi here, on this particular Saturday, I take the opportunity to escape and do something I, literally, haven’t done in over 10 years. I go to a LAN Cafe. I am certainly out of practice, but manage to hold my own in a few games. I return well past 9pm — hoping Stormy is in bed. Chewie barks a couple of times as I approach the door. However, I manage to quieten him down and sneak inside. There are no sounds so I’m think I’m safe.

And I spoke too soon. Not 2 minutes later, Stormy comes out of my bedroom to give me a picture she drew for me earlier in the day. I tuck her back in bed and lie there talking her through the breathing exercises. She’s back asleep within minutes. A kiss on her forehead and I quietly leave.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 146) | Tomorrow (Day 148) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.