Day 177 or “The Day Stormy Entertains Guests”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readJul 17, 2017

It’s the cat who wakes me up this morning. I briefly consider throwing him out the window, but he starts purring and those ideas dissipate quickly. Stormy wakes an hour later while I’m having my shower. She comes in, showing no regard to privacy, and asks for ToastBox for breakfast. As I’m attending a conference most of the week, coincidentally halfway between my house and ToastBox, I readily agree.

We quickly get ready and head off. During our obligatory morning Toast and Tea (Milo for her) she reads me one of her practice stories. She’s getting good at reading the words that she knows. However, still really struggles to blend new words. I have to keep the practice up. After breakfast it’s a quick taxi ride to school and the conference.

After the conference (my talk went well BTW), I bring home a few friends for drinks. Stormy entertains them and is generally well behaved. She may have dressed up as a crocodile, but no one got eaten. I let her stay up with us and she nearly falls asleep in my lap. By 9:30 everyone has gone back to the hotel and I can put Stormy to bed properly. She wakes long enough for her breathing exercises, and then she’s out for the night.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 176) | Tomorrow (Day 178) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.