Day 193 or “The Day Stormy Senses An Opportunity”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readAug 2, 2017

I don’t get to bed until past 1am this morning. Stormy senses an opportunity and let’s me sleep in. While normally I would appreciate this, today we miss the bus. We wake at 8am. By 9am, not only are we completely ready, we’ve managed to have breakfast at ToastBox and arrive at the school gates with minutes to spare. On the way we stop to take a couple of photo’s our new shortcut along Singapore river. If you’re wondering why Stormy isn’t in the photo’s — she refused. Stating “my body, my choice”. She’s completely right and I respect that.

As we scoot to school the conversation turns to eating houses. I’m really not sure how. We decide that it would be horrible because the paint would taste bad. “And so would the doors”, she adds.

For dinner, Stormy decides to only eat the rice. No vegetables or stew. Not even the fact that she won’t earn desert dissuades her from this path. She grabs handfuls of rice in her hands and starts eating with her hands. The mess is incredible. But everyone is having fun. Even Chewie, who gets to eat all the rice that falls on the floor. Continuing her campaign of well-behaved passive-resistance, she refuses to go to bed. Instead she joins me a work video-conference and sit’s there quietly doing her colouring in. I will admit my colleagues somewhat enjoyed the distraction.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 192) | Tomorrow (Day 194) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.