Day 219 or “T-6”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readAug 28, 2017

My daughter is a paradox. She is the only person I know who can get up early and, simultaneously, refuse to get up. I’m having an early morning video conference when, at about 6am, Stormy slowly staggers out of her bed and sits down on the sofa behind me. She chatters for a moment and then is silent. By 7am, my video conference is over and I walk around to get Stormy up for breakfast. It’s 7:30 by the time she acknowledges my existence.

As we walk down to the school bus, she turns to me. “My dream was nice. It was about Batman. That’s why I didn’t get up.”

I’m so proud of her.

After work, she promises to stay in her own room and sleep in her own bed if I let her watch an episode of TV. That’s a bargain I’m willing to accept. And as I’m also trying to teach her about compromise, promises & consequences, I see this as an opportunity for multiple lessons. By some miracle she keeps to her word. She even eats all her dinner as a gesture of good will (or hunger, I’ll go either way).

I spend a quiet evening catching up on work. I watch much less TV since my wife has been away. I also relax less. I think these two may be related.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 218) | Tomorrow (Day 220) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.