Day 220 or “T-5”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
1 min readAug 29, 2017

I want you to imagine an elephant on meth who’s allergic to sleep. That pretty much what most of my nights are like. However, on this particular Tuesday, Stormy actually begins the night in her own bed. Sure, she’s transferred to my bed by 4am, but it’s close enough.

The morning goes past quickly. With only a few days left of single-fatherhood, I’m making the most of our time together. We scoot along the river the school enjoying the cool breeze. Singapore is putting on its best Melbourne weather for us before we depart. I drop her at school with the briefest of hugs as she runs in to play with her friends.

The evening is almost as good. She eats all her dinner, wants to speak with her mother, and is generally well behaved. She is even asleep in bed by 8:30. A mere hour after she’s meant to. Although I did spend 30 minutes of that time helping her look for her sweets that mysteriously disappeared last night. Somehow, we don’t find them. It’s like they just vanished. Some things we’ll never know.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 219) | Tomorrow (Day 221) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.