Day 22

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 14, 2017

Another morning, another kick in the ribs. Today it’s Stormy who’s up first. “Daddy, get up. Get up daddy”. I have no choice in the matter. It’s Sunday, so a few morning cartoons later and the day begins.

After a quick breakfast at ToastBox, Stormy wants to go to Daiso to spend her pocket money (for those who don’t know, Daiso is a discount store where literally everything is $2). For Chinese New Year, I gave Stormy her first real money. I want her to learn about value and choice. I remind her that it’s her money to spend as she likes, but she only has enough money to buy 4 things. After much deliberation she selects another animal shaped garden pot for her room garden, some stickers, and a little fan. It’s her choice and she’s happy. When we walk out, she see’s the arcade and want’s to go. I remind her that she’s spent all her money and she agrees that she’ll wait for her next pocket money.

Walking around the shopping center, Stormy comes out with: “It’s nice being alive, not dead. Because we can go to Daiso and ToastBox”. All I can respond is: “Yes, yes it is”. Stormy has been preoccupied with death recently. It has been the topic of many conversations which I try to answer as matter-of-factly as I can.

Once home we play with her latest acquisitions. It’s a rainy day so there’s no talk of going anywhere. I set her up with gloop (1 part corn flour, 1 part water and food colouring) in the bath. That keeps her occupied for 30 minutes. I talk to her about states of matter, surface tension and viscosity. She’s used to me rambling on by now and happily ignores me.

A shower for all of us, including the cat who managed to jump into the gloop, and the rest of the afternoon is spent mooching in front of the TV.
She only comes out of bed 5 times today before falling asleep.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 21) | Tomorrow (Day 23) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.