Day 221 or “T-4”

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readAug 30, 2017

Today is a bus morning. We make it to the bus-stop with plenty of time to spare so spend the time on the nearby swings. Stormy has a play-date after school, so she doesn’t return until after 6:30. I’m giving her every opportunity to play with her friends here in Singapore before we leave.

She tells me that she’s hungry and serves a large pile of spaghetti onto her plate for dinner. For a moment, I think that she’ll actually eat it all. However, I know my daughter better than that. About 1/2 way through she pushes the plate away. “I’m full” she announces and goes off to find the cat. 15 minutes later she comes up to me, looks me in the eye, and says; “Daddy, I’m hungry”. I lock gaze with her; “your dinner is still on the table, you can have that”. Knowing she is defeating she slinks off into the dining room.

At least I thought that was where she went. She runs past 2 minutes later having raided a yoghurt from the fridge. I let her keep her spoils of war. Mostly because I want her to keep eating high calcium foods like yoghurt. The minute I tell her she must eat it, she will refuse. If she feels a sense of accomplishment in acquiring it, she’ll keep eating them.

After putting makeup on each other (I look beautiful), I eventually get her to bed.

All parenting horror stories begin with the same 6 words: “I stepped away for two seconds”. This time there is a crash from her bedroom. I run in to find that she has climbed up to turn her light back on and fallen off the bed. A small bump, but nothing a Daddy Cuddle™ can’t fix.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 220) | Tomorrow (Day 222) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.