Day 24

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 15, 2017

So that was an interesting night. Both Stormy and I slept on the sofa. While she didn’t actually fall asleep any sooner, I think we both slept better than usual. That being said, I don’t want to disrupt her routine too much. And yes, I realise the irony of that statement.

At about 6:30, Stormy’s grandmother comes in. I’ve been awake for a while, so it’s gratifying to be able to whisper in her ear “Abbi’s here” and see her jump instantly awake in excitement. We spent the next hour avoiding getting ready for school, but the time soon comes that we can’t procrastinate any longer. A quick breakfast and it’s down to the bus stop. With Abbi this time.

A brief side note. In Sinhala, it is common to call your mother Amma (pronounced Ah-ma) or, more informally, Ammi. A grandmother would be Archamma. From a young age, Stormy would often hear Nilmini call her mother Ammi. When she was learning to talk, she would try and call her Archamma, Ammi — and yet, was unable to make the sounds. So it came out as Abbi. We thought this was adorable and the name stuck.

Stormy has learnt how to be anti-social. Once we’re at the bus-stop she refuses to sit next to her class mate. She would rather sit beside me, pull out her tablet, and play her computer games. She’s taking after her father, but I’m not sure how I feel about that.

Arriving home from work is an ordeal. It doesn’t take long before she’s in tears because I won’t let her watch TV during dinner. I stand my ground and before too long she’s happily eating at the table with all of us. The rest of the night unfolds as usual and 4 hours later she’s asleep.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 23) | Tomorrow (Day 25) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.