Day 26

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 16, 2017

As I believe I have mentioned before, I make bad decisions at 5am. It is at about this time that Stormy decides to wake up. Nudging me, ever so not-gently, and suggesting that it’s time to get out of bed. I vehemently disagree and we roll over and go back to sleep. But only for a moment. For it is at this time that my phone rings. Thinking it’s my alarm I jump out of bed. However, instead of turning off the “alarm”, I answer the call. Thus forced into a quick work phone call, I quietly step out of the room, only to have Stormy follow. I sit her down on the sofa while I excuse myself from the call (5am being a good excuse). Once extricated, I find Stormy asleep on the sofa.

I join her.

A few hours later and it’s really time to wake. But this time, Stormy chooses not to. Pushing me away each time I try to wake her. Eventually she wakes and the morning routine begins as usual. Other than having her “Abbi” here, there’s not much different about today. I do, however, get a brief respite to have a shower in peace. It’s rather pleasant.

And then it’s off to school and work. I take the opportunity of having my mother-in-law here to work late. As expected, even returning well into the evening, Stormy is still awake.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 25) | Tomorrow (Day 27) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.