Day 27

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readFeb 18, 2017

Day 27. Those words signify a period of time has passed. And yet, if you told me it had been just a week or over a year, I would believe you.

The morning goes as usual — nothing to report.

My workday is broken with a trip to Stormy’s school over lunch. It’s her first school play for the year. I cancel a couple of business meetings because this is the most important thing I can do. I make sure I’m seated in the middle so I can record and stream the video to Australia. Abbi and I watch Stormy sing the “Dinosaur Stomp” song, play the part of the Cat in the Chinese Zodiac play (and yes, I know there’s no Cat in the Zodiac) and hear her sing 2 songs in Mandarin. She needs to work on her stage presence, but that’s something we can do that together.

After the play we stop for lunch as a family before I need to head back to the office. I return home a little early for Movie Night. We order McDonalds as a treat (her choice) and relax on the sofa for a couple of hours.

Tonight the battle for bed takes a different turn. Stormy decides she doesn’t like her toothpaste and flings it away across the room. She doesn’t understand that shops close and I can’t go out and buy her new toothpaste on a whim. Technically I could, but she doesn’t need to know this. Thus begins 30 minutes of tantrum. Ending only when, trying to hit me, I move and she hits the floor hurting her hand. Moving from stern & unmoving Dad to consoling Dad in an instant does the trick. She calms and, before long, agrees to brush her teeth.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 26) | Tomorrow (Day 28) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.