Day 56

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 18, 2017

Stormy decides that it is time to wake up. I have no choice in the matter. My feeble protests are ignored and my futile attempts at resistance is met with fierce retaliation. Mostly in the form of a four year old bouncing on my stomach. She achieves her goal very quickly. Once out of bed, I sit Stormy down on the sofa with her tablet. I know they say to limit TV and games, but the ability to have a shower in peace is worth it. One hot shower later and I’m ready to face the day.

We have a play-date this morning at the Singapore Science Centre. Stormy takes great pleasure at showing her new friend around. They have a great time. Between the Tesla coils, earthquake room, volcano simulator, CO2 shooting gallery (don’t ask) and DIY pinball machine we manage to spend over 4 hours there. Stormy is at the “Why?” age. I try and answer each of her questions as we walk (run) around, but she only listens about 50% of the time. In the taxi home she starts asking about magic wands. I try and explain that the universe is amazing enough without inventing magic, but Elsa has ruined that argument for me.

The afternoon is spend playing with Lego. I’m lucky enough to be able to escape for a couple of hours. Even though my wife isn’t here, I’m trying to keep the idea of a parents night off going. I want to keep Stormy on the routine so it’s easy to continue when my wife returns. I also get an afternoon off so I may be using that as a justification. :-)

As usual Stormy refuses to go to bed. She wants me to come to bed with her, but I tell her that I have some work to do. I give her a kiss and wish her a good night. For the shortest time, I believe that I’ve won. That doesn’t last long. Stormy comes out to the computer room with all her bedding. She makes about 10 trips and brings all her soft toys with her. I try and tell her that she needs to go to bed. She points out that she’s already in bed. That she brought her bed to me. I can’t argue with that.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 55) | Tomorrow (Day 57) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.