Day 57

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 19, 2017

Sunday is always a difficult day. I wake up at about 5am and head downstairs to the gym. The first time in many, many, years. I want to try and get fitter before my wife returns. After an hour, I return and get through a little bit of personal work before Stormy wakes at 7am precisely.

Today is another play-date with one of her little friends who she hasn’t seen in months. Stormy and I spend an hour in the kitchen preparing crepes for everyone. She pours and mixes all the ingredients together. She gets bored after a while so I finish up while she watches TV in the lounge room. Stormy is extraordinarily patient while we wait for her friend to arrive. But arrive she does and now I have two 4 year old’s to contend with. Luckily there are also now two sets of parents, but it doesn’t seem enough.

There are pros and cons to having a play-date in your own house. Pro: you don’t need to convince your child to leave the house. Con: You need to clean up after two little disasters. Pro: They entertain each other. Con: They entertain each other by destroying the house. Pro: our child gets to show off all her toys. Con: She has to share her toys. Pro: They both have a lot of fun.

The “pros” win.

After breakfast and a short play, we all troop down to the swimming pool to take advantage of Singapore’s great weather. They share their toys and we all have fun. I can’t ask for more than that. We finish the play-date with a quick Japanese lunch down the road (udon noodle soup) and bid them farewell as they head home.

We return home and, faced with a mountain of dishes, decide to crash on the sofa and watch TV.

Dinner is leftovers. Stormy has leftover crepes with maple syrup and I have leftover beef pie. Stormy decides to add my tomato sauce to her crepes. I advise her against it, but am overruled. I decide to let her make her own mistakes. And mistake it was. Never again will she mix those two flavours together.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 56) | Tomorrow (Day 58) › | Final Day »

* For those who missed the context, I’m not actually single. My wife has started a 5-month contract in Australia (yay). This is a Very Good Thing™. Stormy will be staying with me here in Singapore and I have great help both remotely (from my wife) and locally. I’m writing this purely for fun and to practice writing. :-)

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.