Day 68

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readMar 30, 2017

This morning I am the ultimate Single Dad™. I get Stormy out of bed and quickly dressed, whereupon I head into the kitchen to fix her breakfast. Only to discover that we’re out of bread and cereal. Therefore, the only conclusion is… left-over pizza for breakfast. I feel somewhat, unashamedly, proud of myself. Stormy doesn’t know any better, but is also happy about it.

After breakfast we walk, hand-in-hand, down to the bus stop. After blowing kisses at each other goodbye, it’s a quick scoot into work. Work has become an escape. A place to be an adult, a place where I can have silence for more than a minute, a place where I can go to the toilet in peace. But that time comes to an end and it’s back home in time for dinner. It being that sort of day, we have left-overs for dinner as well.

During dinner, Stormy chatters away about all sorts of fascinating, and yet utterly inane, topics. It’s utterly adorable. I kept telling myself, “I should remember that for the diary”, but don’t. You’ll need to take my word for it. After dinner I remind Stormy that tomorrow is Movie Night and, if she wants it, she has to earn one last green sticker on her “go to bed” poster. For the first night in a week she surprises me. While she comes out once or twice, there comes a point when I realise I haven’t seen her for a while. I walk into my room and find her curled up under all the blankets. Fast asleep.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 67) | Tomorrow (Day 69) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.